I am a nerd.

I have been a nerd as many of my nearly 31 years as I can remember, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

I have poor eyesight and require glasses or contacts, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

I am intelligent, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

I am knowledgeable, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

I have limited social skills, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

I was bullied for all of these things as a child, but that is not what makes me a nerd.

These things may be common among nerds, but they are not what being a nerd is about. They do not make me a nerd, and they are not a standard by which nerdhood should be judged.

Being a nerd is about love.

Love of a show or a book or a comic. Love of an academic topic or artistic medium.

Unabashed, unquenchable, undeniable love.

To be a nerd, you must do one thing, and one thing only:

Love what you love in the best way that you can love it. This is the only requirement.

Do not decry a younger nerd, but share your knowledge and passion with them.

Do not begrudge an older nerd, but relish in the opportunity to learn from them.

Go forth and be nerdy. Spread the love.

