Tags

,

When I was young…

…web pages took 30 seconds to load, minimum. If it had pictures, go take a nap. It taught patience and that if something isn’t worth waiting for, it isn’t worth anything.

…logging on made the most horrendous noise I could have imagined. It taught me that all things have good and bad to them. It’s just a matter of whether or not the good outweighs the bad.

…the best graphics you got on a computer screen looked like it was all drawn with a connect-the-dots book. Console graphics were even worse. It taught me that content, not beauty, is the most important thing.

…if someone in your house made or received a phone call, your internet turned off until they hung up the phone. Whatever page you had loaded was gone, whatever game you might be playing was over. It taught loss and acceptance…and more patience.

These are some of the things that the internet taught me and other nerds raised with the internet.

